The Neighbors: Part One

We live in a cul-da-sac where you notice everything everyone is doing.  It’s a blessing and a curse.

For example, neighbor girl marries an illegal Mexican to keep him legal….you notice the party.

Dogs keeps pooping in your yard….you know which yard to return the poop.

Neighbor says he’s been watching you shovel snow and it didn’t look like you were having fun….makes you go back inside until later.

You see what I mean?

The other day I came home and for a moment questioned if I had turned onto the wrong street.  What the hell is that?  I slowly approached my house and gawked at the neighbor’s home.  This would be my literally next door to me neighbor.  You couldn’t not notice their house.

Apparently, the Halloween elves pooped on their front yard.

I park and survey the situation from my driveway:

Multiple giant furry spiders, giant cobweb, hanging skeletons, purple lighted bats, orange lights, green lights, hanging Frankenstein, a yard of giant metal sunflowers in all colors, two enormous stuffed crow people…and the grand finale a giant pumpkin with ghosts – inflated by a motor….anchored securely to the yard.

As I stand there slack jawed, my neighbor from across the street yells over, “That’s going to be hard to compete with…what the hell is all that?”

I give him my wide eye look and walk into the garage.  I know exactly what I’m looking for and head back out front with my treasure.   I locate the nail to the left of the front door and hang up my “Happy Harvest”wooden pumpkin sign.

We’re decorated.

Now time for a glass of wine.

Leave a Reply

