Je ne parle pas Francais.

I don’t speak French.
Huh?
What?
Arriving into Montreal tonight – after two days of travel to get here – I tried out my one liner on the cab driver: “Parlez vous anglais?” To which I received at least 4 sentences in French. I was flabbergasted in the back seat. The only thing I could say was, “I’ve got no idea what you just said.” HA! And we laughed. Thank goodness laughing is universal. Could you imagine if it wasn’t? Wow….that would have been awkward.

I actually have THREE lines when meeting someone here: Bon jour! Je ne parle pas Francais. Parlez vous anglais? However I haven’t enough nerve to throw it out there yet. Maybe the daylight will change my mind. I hope. I want to give it a go. Really, all it comes down to is my self-conscience saying “you’re a boob” when in reality the people on the receiving end will probably be happy at least I’m trying. Well they’ll actually probably end up laughing, but hey, people make money making people laugh – look at Ellen DeGeneres!

Okay so ponder me this – airplane bathrooms. By the time I return to Juneau on November 26th I will have taken 22 flights, counting Australia. (Still haven’t made Alaska Airlines MVP – seriously.) Things I have noticed that have given me pause are:

1. When you are using the bathroom on the plane, I have an idea – lock the door! It’s the little slider that turns the light on. Even has a note that says, “lock” with a directional arrow. You don’t have to sit there in the dark, Mr. Blue Boxer Shorts. I mean, really, you’re mad at me for opening the door – when really you’re the one who didn’t lock it! If I had esp I’d be in a different profession making millions telling fortunes not whipping the door open on mindless men on an airplane….don’t flatter yourself.

2. When you come out of the bathroom – don’t give me the stink eye. I mean where would you prefer I stand? Really, the back of airplanes are legendary for their expansive space and accommodations. In fact, some airlines offer full blown yoga courses back there. NOT! And why are you so surprised there are people waiting in line to pee? You didn’t think you were the only one right? Chances are you had to wait in line just like the rest of us so get over your attitude – everyone poops.

Side note: I would like to point out I actually feel bad for the people near the pee line. Throughout the entire flight, they have people hovering over them. Wondering: what are they reading? Oy, look at that outfit. Is he drooling? She really needs to get her roots done…soon. Those people should get a free drink ticket.

3. Today, I was on a flight – in a small plane. One bathroom – in the back. The light wouldn’t stay on. Really, you must be kidding and I checked my flashlight. I checked the lock – for fear it slid out of place. No, it was secure. The light was temperamental. I am not a trapeze artist. Hanging on to the sink, so I can hover appropriately over the bowl, with tissue ready in the other hand is hard enough – let alone having to pause every 4 seconds to turn the light back on. Someone should really mention something to someone about that light.

Finally, nothing to even do with bathrooms, but it was an enlightening moment. Recently I was reading an article in Alaska Airlines magazine and the author, whose name I now forget – made a comment that has stuck in my brain and is genus. I’d like to share it with you. Boarding the plane – we all have our 1 carry on bag and 1 personal item. How many times does that personal item turn into a homo sapien “dorsal fin”? I’m sure those people packing giant packs on their back are very kind and gracious people. However when they whip around to put their roller bag in the overhead – I, being an aisle sitter – have to watch out for the dorsal fin attack. After realizing the proper term for the attack, I laughed out loud when on my flight yesterday….there I sat when “AHHHH it’s the fin….the dorsal fin!!! Watch out!!” Karate chop that …. wahhhhhhhaaaa!

Alright then, enough talk about planes. I did fly into NYC today on my way to Montreal. It was like a flightseeing trip. We flew over Central Park, the Sears Building, the Empire State Building, the Twin Towers, Ellis Island and as we turned I could see the Statue of Liberty. It was amazing. I was so glad I had a window seat.

I made it to Montreal and am in my room. The first one was a gorgeous corner room – THREE french doors that opened out on the street. Only one problem….the lock on the door didn’t work. So now I’m down the hall – same room set up and actually there are stairs in this room. How funny is that. I’m also off the street, so I think sleeping will be easier, but with less light during the day. Although i don’t plan to spend much time in here so that’s okay.

Montreal hotel room - up the stairs!

Way cool shower.

Tomorrow I’m out on my own to explore before the convention. Watch out – Alaskan on the loose! Onwards and upwards!

Have a good one.
D.

4 thoughts on “Je ne parle pas Francais.

  1. CK

    You know “merci’ … pronounced mer-SEE. And, that’s always appreciated.
    Good observations on the more unique aspects of travels. I know, you might want to consider changing careers to a travel guide writer. You have the skills.
    Ok, yea, not so much with the flying part.
    LOVE YOUR ROOM!
    Take care, ck

    Reply
  2. Aunt Kathy

    Donna, Good thing I just used the Lavatory or I would have wet myself and U. Pat. You should try out for stand up you are a riot. Where does that all come from???? It must be from the Powell side not from Mom’s.

    Have fun and try to find a comedy club that has ammature (s) night. Duh! 2 early.

    Love,
    A.Kathy

    Reply
  3. DIANE E POWELL

    Aunt Kathy is right. You should start writing an Irma Bombeck type book in your spare time. Have you read “Why is the Grass Greener Over the Septic Tank”? You would be able to have a good book published – I do believe that. I always thought travel writer would be a really great profession. Maybe you should try that.
    Have fun – enjoy the french food.
    Love You,
    Mom

    Reply
  4. Uncle Walt

    Donna, hovering over a toydy in an airplane is nothing compared to hovering over a downed tree in the woods at 10 degrees, with hunting cloths 4 inches thick and a cold shriveled up 2 inch peepee. Just not a lot of fun, when it’s unexpected, and things are rumbling, and in a sudden hurry. At least I had some paper, not enough paper, but it’ll have to do.
    Have a great time, and may our Lord watch over you, and keep you safe from any harm.
    Deliver her safely back home Father.
    Uncle walt

    Reply

Leave a Reply

